Blogging Challenges, Family, Life

Day 18: Describe your relationship with your parents

I’m about two days behind (bare with me here guys)

So my relationship with my biological father is really non-existent. It consists of Facebook likes, posts and comments. That is literally all. I met him for what I remember as the first time maybe when I was around 7 or 8 years old? I always chased him and wanted to spend time with him but it was always something with him. Eventually I gave up. Wrote him a not so nice letter and just let it go. I don’t think he’s ever forgiven me for that letter but he can go suck a bum’s left toe.

My “dad” he raised me since I was 9 months old. I didn’t know he wasn’t really my dad until I met my biological father. I love him like no other although sometimes I wish things had gone differently during my childhood. Shit got crazy when my mother and him split up and it affected my siblings and I all in very different ways. I tried to play indifferent because, well my real father never wanted me so I wasn’t surprised when we also became distant…I figured this was no different. But then I grew up a little, I realized that he and my mother unfortunately didn’t work out but he was remarried now and has his own other children and that part of his life needed his attention. I don’t hold it against him at all. I love him, and I know that if I ever need anything and it’s in his power..he will make it happen like a motherfucking genie.

Then there’s my mother. The strongest, most annoying, craziest woman I know. And although she gets on my nerves sometimes and she ruined my credit when I was younger, I love her. So, she’s also remarried and I feel like she’s sort of been enslaved by her new marriage, but at least I’m glad she started working again. My mother has always been very independent and I always looked up to her for it. Never needing a man, never letting a man or anyone for that matter tell her shit. I fed off that attitude. And although I am in a very happy relationship, I know that I can succeed all on my own as well. SO back to my mother, her husband is always in a rush (I hate that), always needing to be somewhere or seeing someone. He can’t be still for long periods of time and he’s always drinking. I do however love the fact that he makes my mother happy, and she never needs anything. Our relationship has had our tough times, but all in all I know I can come to her with just about anything and she won’t hold back. Just like I wouldn’t with her as well. We do have that special mother/daughter bond regardless of everything.

           See that? that’s my mother.

Thanks for reading! What’s your relationship like with your parents?! Let me know!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Image credit

2 thoughts on “Day 18: Describe your relationship with your parents”

Leave a Reply

